Site search
About us

Population & Systems Medicine Board

Board membership from 1 April 2019

  • Professor Paul Elliott (Chair), School of Public Health, Imperial College London
  • Professor Tonia Vincent (Deputy Chair), The Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, University of Oxford
  • Dr Gillian Butler-Browne, Centre of Research in Myology, Paris
  • Professor Andy Clark, Institute of Inflammation and Aging, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Bernard Keavney, University of Manchester
  • Professor David van Heel, Centre for Genomics & Child Health, Queen Mary, University of London.
  • Professor Helen Picton, Institute of Cardiovascular & Metabolic Medicine, University of Leeds.
  • Professor Richard Coward, Bristol Heart Institute, University of Bristol
  • Professor Valerie O’Donnell, Division of Infection & Immunity, Cardiff University
  • Dr Rab Prinjha (PDF, 33KB), GlaxoSmithKline
  • Professor Colin Palmer (PDF, 32KB), Molecular & Clinical Medicine, University of Dundee
  • Professor Adnan Custovic, Department of Paediatrics, Imperial College London
  • Professor Liam Heaney, Centre for Experimental Medicine, Queens University Belfast
  • Professor Brian Walker (PDF, 43KB), Pro Vice Chancellor, Research Strategy & Resources and Chair of Medicine, Newcastle University
  • Professor Michael Muller (PDF, 33KB), Norwich Medical School, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Catherine Williamson, Division of Woman’s Health King’s College London
  • Professor Robert Semple, University of Edinburgh/BHF Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences.
  • Professor David Hunter, Nuffield Department of Health, University of Oxford
  • Professor Margaret MacLean, Research Institute of Cardiovascular & Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Rory McCrimmon, School of Medicine, University of Dundee
  • Professor Jeremy Tomlinson, Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology & Metabolism, University of Oxford
  • Dr Bevan Huang, Janssen Research & Development
  • Professor Linda Baud, University of Edinburgh


For general pre-award policy and eligibility enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team:

For board operation and peer review enquiries, contact:

For enquiries about scientific remit please see Our contacts and science page