We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Site search
About us

Data Science Strategic Advisory Group

The Data Science Strategic Advisory Group (DSAG) is responsible for advising and shaping MRC’s strategy for data science and takes a broad and long-term perspective of MRC’s role, in UKRI and in the wider UK data science landscape. 

The Group takes a very broad perspective of data science, including:

  • Digital Research Infrastructure consisting of computing and data infrastructure, stewardship and sharing; Trusted Research Environments; software and networks
  • Science across the MRC’s Boards and Panels, through partnerships within UKRI, with other funders, industry, health departments, and other organisations (e.g. Artificial Intelligence research and application/implementation)
  • Skills and capacity needed to deliver health and biomedical science
  • Methodology development (in mathematics, statistics, data analysis tools and machine learning), especially data-intensive research methodologies

Current membership (as of March 2021)

  • Professor Irene Tracey (Chair), University of Oxford
  • Professor David Ford (Deputy Chair), Swansea University
  • Professor Brendan Delaney, Imperial College London
  • Mr James Fleming, The Francis Crick Institute
  • Professor Simon Hettrick, Software Sustainability Institute
  • Professor Chris Holmes, University of Oxford
  • Professor Marcus Kaiser, Newcastle University
  • Dr Helen Parkinson, EMBL-EBI
  • Professor Mark Parsons, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor John Quackenbush, Harvard University
  • Professor Magnus Rattray, University of Manchester
  • Dr Jeremy Sharp, JISC
  • Dr Mike Short, UK Department for International Trade
  • Professor Cathie Sudlow, University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Kenji Takeda, Microsoft Research


Dr Claire Newland, MRC Head of Data Science
E-mail: Claire.Newland@mrc.ukri.org

Dr Yan Yip, Programme Manager for Data Science (DSAG Secretariat)
E-mail: Yan.Yip@mrc.ukri.org