Back to listing

MRC scientists elected Fellows of the Royal Society

29 Apr 2016

[Picture: Dr Manu Hegde, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology] 

Three MRC scientists have been elected Fellows of the Royal Society in recognition of their contribution to science. As the UK’s independent academy for science, the Royal Society seeks to promote excellence in science through its Fellowships and Foreign memberships. Each year, the Royal Society elects up to 52 new Fellows and up to 10 new Foreign Members, recognising those scientists who have made substantial contributions to the improvement of knowledge in the sciences.

Dr Manu Hegde, Group Leader, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, has been elected for his contributions to understanding how nascent secretory and membrane proteins mature to their functional state, and how quality control pathways detect and resolve mistakes during maturation.

Professor Neil Gow, Deputy Director, MRC Centre for Medical Mycology at the University of Aberdeen, has been recognised for his discoveries in fungal biology and genetics, morphogenesis and pathogenesis. His research directly impacts on the design and use of antifungal drugs, diagnostics and immunotherapies for fungal diseases. 

Professor Adrian Hayday, Group Leader, the Francis Crick Institute, has been elected for his contributions to understanding how lymphocytes function within epithelial tissues.

For a full list of the fellows elected in 2016, please visit:


  • Categories: Corporate
  • Health categories: Other
  • Strategic objectives:
  • Locations: Aberdeen, Cambridge
  • Type: News article