Site search
Back to listing
Professor Vincenzo Cerundolo

Professor Vincenzo Cerundolo

MRC scientists elected Fellows of the Royal Society

9 May 2018

MRC-supported researchers are among the 60 eminent scientists elected as Fellows of the Royal Society.

As the UK’s independent academy for science, the Royal Society seeks to promote excellence in science through its fellowships and foreign memberships. Each year, the Royal Society elects up to 52 new Fellows and up to 10 new Foreign Members, recognising scientists who have made substantial contributions to the improvement of knowledge in the sciences.

Professor Vincenzo Cerundolo, Director of the MRC Human Immunology Unit at the University of Oxford and Deputy Director of the MRC Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine at the University of Oxford, is recognised for his world-leading research on T cell immunology, particularly his discoveries on how peptides and lipids are processed and presented to T cells. His work has generated new therapeutic strategies to boost immune responses against cancer and pathogens.

Dr Judy Hirst, Deputy Director of the MRC Mitochondrial Biology Unit, University of Cambridge, has been recognised for her contribution to understanding the structure of respiratory complex I, one of the largest and most complicated enzymes in the mammalian cell.

Dr Vassilis Pachnis, Senior Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute, is recognised for his contributions to understanding how the nervous system develops and how its organisation and function are maintained in adult animals.

Professor Charles Swanton, Senior Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute and Director of the Cancer Research UK Lung Cancer Centre of Excellence at UCL, is elected for his breakthroughs in understanding how tumours evolve into cancer cells that have different genetic mistakes. Through his research, he has helped to define the impact of cancer diversity on effective immune surveillance and clinical outcomes.  

Visit the Royal Society website for a full list of the Fellows and Foreign Members elected in 2018.


  • Categories: Research
  • Health categories:
  • Locations:
  • Type: News article