We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Site search
About us

Neurosciences & Mental Health Board

Board membership from 1 April 2020

  • Professor Paul Matthews (Chair), Division of Brain Sciences, Imperial College London
  • Professor Jeremy Hall (Deputy Chair), Cardiff University
  • Professor David Bennett, John Radcliffe Hospital University of Oxford
  • Professor Judy Dubno, Medical University of South Carolina, USA
  • Dr Michael Hastings, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge.
  • Professor Elizabeth Jefferies, Department of Psychology, University of York
  • Professor Marcus Kaiser, School of Computing Newcastle University
  • Professor Marcus Munafo, School of Experimental Psychology, University of Bristol.
  • Dr Thomas Rooney, Sanofi
  • Professor Trevor Sharp, University of Oxford
  • Professor Emily Simonoff, Department of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Kings College London
  • Professor Swaran Singh, Warwick Medical School, University of Warwick
  • Professor Joanna Wardlaw, Centre for Clinical Brain Sciences, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Elizabeth Fisher, University College London
  • Professor Pradeep Nathan, Heptares Therapeutics and University of Cambridge
  • Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga, Imperial College London
  • Professor Oscar Marin, King’s College London
  • Professor Andrew Jackson, Newcastle University
  • Professor Edwin Robertson, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Peter Magill, University of Oxford
  • Dr Diego Gomez Nicola, University of Southampton
  • Professor Daniel Smith, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Anna Williams, University of Edinburgh


For general pre-award policy and eligibility enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team: RFPD@headoffice.mrc.ac.uk

For board operation and peer review enquiries, contact:

For enquiries about scientific remit please see Our science and contacts page.