We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Site search
About us

Translational Research Group

The Translational Research Group (TRG) is responsible for ensuring strong continued support for translational research across the MRC. We support translational research across our funding Boards and Panels, through partnerships with other funders and major Higher Education Institutions and through dedicated funding schemes. Areas of particular focus for TRG include:

Professor Anna Dominiczak, Institute of Cardiovascular & Medical Sciences, University of Glasgow, chairs the Group.

Current membership

  • Professor Anna Dominiczak (chair), Regis Professor of Medicine, Vice-Principal and Head of College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow, chairs the Group
  • Professor John Isaacs, Institute of Cellular Medicine Musculoskeletal Research Group, Newcastle University
  • Professor Peter Parker, The Francis Crick Institute
  • Dr Gillian Burgess, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Professor Ian Kimber, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Manchester
  • Dr John Shields (PDF, 38KB), Director, JGSbiopharma Ltd
  • Professor Ian Greer, President & Vice Chancellor, Queen's University Belfast
  • Professor Simon Hollingsworth, Astrazeneca
  • Professor John Girkin, Department of Physics, Durham University
  • Dr Ken Sutherland, Canon Medical Research Europe Ltd
  • Dr Kenji Takada, Microsoft Research Cambridge
  • Professor Jonathan Seckl, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Danny McAuley, Queen’s University Belfast


Programme Manager for Translational Research (TRG Secretariat)

Dr Penny Morton

Email: penny.morton@mrc.ukri.org

Head of Translational Research

Dr Louise Jones

Email: louise.jones@mrc.ukri.org